Go Ahead, Explore

Bloemfontein, poetically known as "The City of Roses", is one of the three capitals of South Africa, and the capital city of the Free State of South Africa, as well as the judicial capital of our nation.

It is part of the Mangaung Local Municipality - “place where the Cheetahs dwell”. This municipality was formed at the end of 2000 by amalgamating the Transitional Local Councils of Bloemfontein, Botshabelo, Thaba Nchu and two Rural Councils.

Business and family interests combine in Bloemfontein; cultures are intermingled, again with peaceable accord. There is little stress and less haste, giving a sense of peace. 

Bloemfontein hosts the Supreme Court of Appeal of South Africa, the Franklin Game Reserve, Naval Hill, the Maselspoort Resort and the Sand du Plessis Theatre. The city hosts numerous museums, including the National Women's Monument, the Anglo-Boer War Museum, and the Oliewenhuis Art Museum.

Our city has much to offer by way of history, culture and beauty. So go ahead, explore.




× Want to chat?